Local History

Scans of some of the older the Sigma Nu yearbooks may be viewed online here.

Sigma Nu Fraternity has been a tradition at the University of Tennessee since 1921 and thrives upon its ideals of Love, Truth, and Honor. At UT, Sigma Nu is active on campus and participates in intramurals, university events, and engages in services with in the Knoxville Community. Over 1,500 young men have been initiated into the Epsilon Eta chapter of Sigma Nu at the University of Tennessee.

Sigma Nu Fraternity officially began on January 1, 1869 when three honorable cadets at Virginia Military Institute joined together in the spirit of brotherhood to oppose the hazing they witnessed at VMI. With some 180+ active chapters between the United States and Canada, men of honor today are continuously being shaped into the leaders of tomorrow. The brotherhood still strives to uphold the same ideals of love, truth, and honor set forth by our founders. Nationally, Sigma Nu is a Tier One fraternity—meaning over 150 chapters. Only eight national fraternities hold this distinction.

Socially, athletically and academically Sigma Nu stays active on the campus. The Epsilon Eta chapter fields teams in all intramural events offer by UT. Socially the chapter offers a strong social calendar and traditionally joins with a sorority in large campus events, such as Homecoming and All-Sing. Academically, the chapter offers financial discounts to new candidates who display academic excellence.

Today the Epsilon Eta chapter of Sigma Nu is one of the fastest growing fraternities at the University of Tennessee. We encourage you to become a part of a brotherhood that values Love, Honor and Truth.

MORE LOCAL HISTORY for this Chapter ~ 1920's · 1930's · 1940's · 1950's · 1960's · 1970's. These PDF's contain articles from the period along with informative benchmarks documenting Sigma Nu's past.

The Plaque

By Lynn Sorrell (E.H. #677)

Sigma Nu plaque The story of the plaque begins at 900 S. 17th Street (site of the current Carousel Theatre beside Clarence Brown Threatre). I was house manager in 1962-63. That was far more work than any other job I had in the fraternity. Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Zeta Beta Tau and Lambda Chi Alpha were all on the same block and had bronze plaques with their Greek letters on it. Somehow, it came up at a chapter meeting that we needed a plaque for us, too. We priced the ones from national and they were beyond our means. We were cheap and poor in those days. David Lee, initiated circa 1961, was from Lenior City and his Dad ran a foundry in the town. Dave talked his Dad into forging us a bronze plaque, but the foundry needed a drawing. I drew it up, not knowing the specific gravity of the bronze alloy to be used for calculating the total weight. Well, I overdid it. I could have drawn it up with about half the thickness and it still would have worked. It's about two inches think on the sides and one inch would have done it. We attached it to the house at 900 17th fall 1963. It took four men to lift it into place and substantial bolts to attach it. The plaque stayed until the original house at 1824 Fraternity Park was built in 1966-67. The plaque was removed from its second house when the original 1824 Fraternity Park house was demolished and is now proudly displayed on its third Sigma Nu house, the new fraternity house at 1824 Fraternity Park.

Past Commanders
Epsilon Eta, Sigma Nu Fraternity

The following list of Past Commanders was complied from information obtained from Sigma Nu Headquarters, reviewing The Volunteer Yearbook and old chapter composites on file with the chapter.

The following brothers served as Commander from 1921 to 1949 —

Claude C. Wilson | Howard H. Baker | Robert R. Dodson | Emmett Hoge | George E. Oldham Jr.
Julius H. Bayer, Jr. | Edward J. Young, Jr. | William P. Ridley, Jr. | John B. Link, Jr. | Joseph R. Gracy
Col. William M. Slayden, II | Ward M. Burleson | George E. Paullus, Jr. | Frank H. Snipes, Jr.
William C. Jacobs, Jr. | Jack Williams | Ernest M. Kenny | William O. Mynatt | James S. Little
Julian P. Hinton | Benjamin C. Young | Earl O. Williams | James W. Fly | Dan Thompson
Paul A. Hughes | Joseph E. Tate, Jr. | Paul O. Dore, Jr. | Thomas C. Prince, Jr. | Joe L. Lay
Richard W. Dell | Joe Mansfield.

The following brothers served as Commander from 1950 to present —

1950 Jack Q. Crum 1951 James D. Robertson 1952 Elmer L. Cook 1953 Dr. Tyler E. Riggins
1953 Dr. Cecil H. Stansberry 1954 Joe R. Gamble, Jr. 1955 E. Douglas Gilmer 1956 C. Leroy Anderson
1957 R. Kelley Baird 1958 R. Kelley Baird 1959 C. Russell Briggs, Jr.  
1960 William G. Crump 1961 Charles F. Smith 1962 Patrick C. Malone 1963 William G. Robinson
1963-64 H. Steve Tidwell 1965 Grady O’Neil Clark 1965-66 D. Lynn Sorrell 1966-67 John R. Tindall, Jr.
1967-68 Larry D. Bredeson 1968-69 Judge Dennis H. Inman 1969-70 Dennis Ford  
1970-71 Stephen C. Beckmann 1971-72 Warren E. Travis, Jr. 1972-73 Edwin M. Baxter, III 1973-74 James L. Hanvey
1974-75 Dr. John S. Arendt 1975-76 Charles J. Klindt 1976-77 William B. Lawson 1977-78 William B. Lawson
1978-79 Thomas M. Sweatt 1979 Frank E. Neal, III 1979-80 James L. Parrish  
1980-81 R. Edward Ingle 1982 Frederick L. Dismukes, Jr. 1982-83 Jerry R. Stroupe, Jr. 1983-84 Barry J. Smith
1984-85 L. Allen Pollitt, III 1985-86 L. Allen Pollitt, III 1986-87 David J. Kanwisher 1987 Christopher A. Pike
1987-88 Bradley P. Serff 1988-89 Barry M. Spurlock 1989 Nathan Kerr 1989-90 Thad L. Harshbager
1990-91 J. Brent Moore 1991-92 J. Brent Moore 1992-93 Marshall L. Beene 1993 Christopher S. Davis
1994 Robert G. Parkinson 1995 Chad A. Quesenberry 1996 Marc V. Courts 1997-98 Matthew P. Friedman
1998-99 Jonathan L. Bell 1999-00 Bryan M. Rieley    
2000-01 Chadwick A. Raphael 2001-02 Jason E. Watkins 2002-03 Patrick R. Poynor 2003 W. Eric Wachtler
2003-04 Andrew A. Shafer 2004-05 Jeffrey H. Yarbrough 2005-06 Cory S. Tickle 2006-07 Tyler Wilkerson
2007-08 J. Wesley Harmon 2008-09 Josh Frieling 2009-10 Jason Kafader  
2010-11 Nick Poveromo 2011-12 C. Todd Bateman 2012-13 Parker Loy 2013-14 Will Parks
2014-15 Jeremy Soble 2015-16 Ian Metcalf 2016-17 Michael Bowers 2017-18 Zach Long
2018-19 Luke McConnell