Check In

Conference Info

Useful PDFs
Featured Speakers
and Awards
Panels and Papers
INKubator Sessions
Special Events and Meals
Themed Portfolios
SGCI Members'
Exchange Porfolio
Open Portfolio
Mentoring Sessions
Publisher and Product Fairs


Travel to Knoxville
Knoxville Attractions


Contact Us

UT Artist in residence art boxes

Viewing of Art Boxes: Friday, March 20, KCC 200DE, 12:00pm-1:30pm

Philanthropic heroes rise to the occasion in unexpected ways. Recently, the University of Tennessee’s School of Art became the beneficiary of an exceptional gesture to ensure the future and stability of our Artist-in-Residence program, now in its 32nd The University’s “Big Orange – Big Ideas” slogan fits this fund-raising project initiated by our alumni—Wade Guyton ’95, Meredyth Sparks ’94, and Josh Smith ’98—to a T! Their really BIG IDEA was to produce a series of Limited Edition Art Boxes with an initial offering to donors to the School of Art A.I.R. campaign. September 2014 marked the first exhibition of the works of art included in the Boxes at The UT Downtown Gallery under the title AIR of UT, in reference to Duchamp’s “Air de Paris” (1919) and the inclusion of this in the artist’s later Boîte-en-valise as well as to Wallace Stevens’ poem “Anecdote of the Jar” (1919) about Tennessee. The Limited Edition Art Boxes form a suite of three, customized boxes of digital prints produced by 30 artists—either alumni or former UT Artists-in-Residence, selected by alumni curators, Guyton, Sparks, and Smith who also contributed work and customized their boxes. The printed works measure 16 x 19”, and the edition is of 100.

Artists Included in the Art Box are:

Suzanne Joelson (AIR ’87)
Gary Stephan (AIR ’87)
Mira Schor (AIR ‘91)
Pinkney Herbert (AIR ‘92)
Pam Jorden (BFA ’92)
Marlo Pascual (BFA ’94)
Richard Phillips (AIR ’94)
Kelly White (BFA ’94)
Cheryl Donegan (AIR ‘95)
Amy Green (BFA ’95)
Guyton \ Walker (BFA '95)
Michael St. John (BFA ’97)
Jon Boles (MFA ‘98)
Ann Craven (AIR ‘98)
Ashley Nason (MFA ‘99)
Carrie Moyer (AIR ‘01)
Sam Gordon (AIR ‘02)
Judith Eisler (AIR ‘04)
Alisha Kerlin (BFA ’05)
Richard Aldrich (AIR ‘06)
Wallace Whitney (AIR ’07)
Jackie Gendel (AIR ‘08)
Melissa Gordon (AIR ‘10)
Keltie Ferris (AIR ’11)
Ezra Johnson (AIR ‘11)
Josephine Halvorson (AIR ’12)
Virginia Overton (studied at UT)