Dr. Carol Tenopir

What are Web Standards?

What are “web standards?”

Web standards are created by the World Wide Web Consortium – the people who invented the Web itself. The W3C created these standards so the Web would work better for everyone. New browsers, mainly, support these standards; old browsers, mainly, don’t.

What can I do?

Your choice of software may be out of your hands. However, if you do have control over what software you are using you should consider upgrading your browser. Doing so will improve your web experience, enabling you to use and view sites as their creators intended.

The following browsers support numerous web standards including CSS, XHTML, and the DOM (a universal means of controlling the behavior of web pages):

Netscape v7 or higher (all platforms), Mozilla Firefox (Windows, Mac OS X, Linux), or other browser from the Mozilla Foundation.

Opera v7 or higher (Windows, Linux)

Apple's Safari (Mac OS X)

Konqueror (Linux KDE Desktop)

Microsoft Internet Explorer v6 or higher (Windows) or v5 or higher (Macintosh)

Please note that this page is not exhaustive list of browsers that support web standards, nor a test of browser compliance, nor a side-by-side comparison of various manufacturers’ browsers.

Text of this page adapted from information taken from The Web Standards Project.

Top of Page

Dr. Carol Tenopir     School of Information Sciences     College of Communication and Information     University of Tennessee
1345 Circle Park Drive, Room 451      University of Tennessee     Knoxville, TN 37996-0341     (865) 974-7911     ctenopir@utk.edu