UTK Research Council Committees, 1999-2000

  • Standing Committees
  • Special Panels
  • Ad Hoc Committees

  • Standing Committees

    Policies and Procedures
    Charge: To explore the realm of policies and procedures at the University with special attention to policies and procedures which have not evolved consistent with the University's development as a Research I University. To make recommendations to the VC/Research regarding desirable policy and procedure changes that would enhance the productivity of the research enterprise.
    Chair: Andrew Kramer
    Members: Dania Bilal, David Hacker, Madhu Madhukar, Masood Parang, Otto Schwarz, Pete Wicks
    Ex-officio: Michael Devine (VC/Research) or designate(s), representatives from appropriate business and finance offices.
    Research Promotion and Education
    Charge: To work with the Research Office to educate the community -- University as well as Statewide -- regarding the research activities of the University. To promote awareness of the activities and achievements of the research enterprise. May work jointly with the Special Projects Committee.
    Chair: Andrew Kramer
    Members: Marion Hansen, Doug Raber
    Ex-officio: Michael Devine (VC/Research) or designate(s), Clif Woods (Assoc. VC, Acad. Aff.)
    Research Infrastructure
    Charge: To determine and prioritize research infrastructure needs in consultation with the research faculty. To engage the Chancellor's Staff in a substantive dialog regarding Research Infrastructure funding models such as the Library Model versus a Cost Recovery Model. To provide an assessment of the likely impact of funding model choices on Faculty productivity, graduate education, and our Research I status. To integrate into an annual research infrastructure needs document all committee assessments.
    Chair: Gayle Baker
    Members: Linda Bensel-Myers, Doug Birdwell, Ham Bozdogan, Mark Dadmun, Kim Jensen, Ted Labotka
    Ex-officio: Bill Blass (RC Chair), Michael Devine (VC/Research), Aubrey Mitchell (Acting Dean, Libraries), Faye Muly (DII)

    Special Panels

    Chancellor Research Awards
    Charge: To solicit nominations, receive nominations, evaluate nominations materials and make recommendations to the Chancellor for the awards.
    Chair: Michael Gant
    Members: Linda Bensel-Myers, Dania Bilal, Andrew Kramer, Ted Labotka, Otto Schwarz
    Ex-officio: Bill Blass (RC Chair), Michael Devine (VC/Research), Ken Walker (Assoc. VC/Research)
    SARIF: Summer Special Research Assistants
    Charge: To solicit nominations, receive nominations, evaluate nominations materials and make recommendations to the Vice Chancellor for Research for the awarding of the funding.
    Chair: Pat Fisher
    Members: Martha Alligood, Marion Hansen, Madhu Madhukar, Pete Wicks
    Ex-officio: Andrew Kramer (RC Assoc. VChair), Ken Walker (Assoc. VC/Research)
    Charge: To solicit and evaluate applicatons for EPPE grants on a timely basis and make recommendations to Vice Chancellor for Research for funding.
    Chair: Gayle Baker
    Members: Benjamin Bates, Ham Bozdogan, Mark Dadmun, Doug Raber
    Ex-officio: Ken Walker (Co-VC/Research Council)
    Administrative Support: TBA
    Centers Evaluation
    Charge: To evaluate Research Centers on an ongoing periodic basis and recommend to the Vice Chancellor for Research the disposition of renewal requests; to perform the same evaluation for new applications for Research Center status.
    Chair: Kim Jensen
    Members: Benjamin Bates, David Hacker, Aubrey Mitchell
    Ex-officio: Gayle Baker (Co-VC/Research Council), Ken Walker (Assoc. VC/Research)

    Ad Hoc Committees

    Special Projects
    Charge: To engage in activities which will raise Community awareness of UTK research activities and results. To promote the participation of all faculty in scholarly and research activities. Specific projects shall include the RC web page, a public lecture series, and the promotion of small grant applications.
    Chair: Andrew Kramer
    Members: Bill Blass, Gayle Baker, Doug Birdwell, Pat Fisher, Kim Jensen
    Ex-officio: Ken Walker (Assoc. VC/Research)

    Comments to: gsbaker@utk.edu
    Last updated September 8, 1999.