The University of Tennessee Faculty Senate MINUTES March 1, 2004

Those absent were: Mary Albrecht, Kendra Albright, Bruce Bomar, Tom Burman, Hui-Shyong Chang, Loren Crabtree, Marianne Custer, Sylvia Davis, Barbara Dewey, Tom Doherty, Rajan Ganguly, Rosalind Gwynne, William Hamel, Marion Hansen, Mark Hedrick, Wes Hines, Karen Hughes, Joe Iannelli, Ed Jepson, Dennie Kelley, Majid Keyhani, Dukwon Kim, John Koontz, Baldwin Lee, Jon Levin, Vena Long, William Lyons, Sally McMillan, Bill Nugent, Bonnie Ownley*, Peggy Pierce, John Preston, W. Tim Rogers, Mary Rogge, Pamela Small, Mandyam Srinivasan*, Marlys Staudt, LTC Robert Walsh, Rick Williams*

*Alternate Senators: Kimberly Guinn for Bonnie Ownley, Virginia Kupritz for Mandyam Srinivasan, Ed Perfect for Rick Williams

B. Lyons called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND INTRODUCTIONS

Establishment of Quorum (S. Jordan)

Jordan confirmed that it appeared a quorum was present.

President's Report (B. Lyons)

Lyons noted that the scorecard is getting more torches. The living wage item still has only one torch, and he encouraged faculty to attend the United Campus Workers rally on March 2. He then discussed the presidential search and noted that brochures about the search are available at the meeting. He next reported that he continues to work with students and others to obtain implementation of a diversity policy and to "push" the resolution on the matter approved by the Faculty Senate on October 20, 2003.

Lyons then discussed the progress on the revision of the Faculty Handbook. He especially noted the role of the Faculty Senate in the process, which is why Chapter 8 has been added. Action on this chapter, as well as Chapter 7 will take place at our April 5th meeting. Next, Lyons noted that discussion of proposed changes to the structure of the Faculty Senate will be discussed today. Lyons reported that the Shared Governance Fund now exceeds \$3,000. Donors to the fund have included Chancellor Loren Crabtree; Academic Deans Stuart Riggsby, Joan Creasia, Barbara Dewey; Former Senate Presidents Kathy Greenberg, Marla Peterson, Glenn Graber, Tom Hood, Bill Blass, Marian Moffett, and Mike Combs; and Faculty Senators Candace White, Chris Craig, David Bassett, Nancy Howell and Steven Blackwell. He stated that a payroll deduction form is being developed and will be posted shortly on the Senate web site.

Lyons also called attention to the salary survey recently provided by the Budget Committee. He noted the need for salary improvements in various departments and for lower paid employees. In particular, he noted that raises based on percentage increases do not provide the raises needed by low-paid employees.

MINUTES

Minutes of the Faculty Senate meeting of February 2, 2004, were approved without change.

REPORTS OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Faculty Handbook Task Force (M. Moffett)

Moffett briefly reviewed the draft of Chapter 8. There was a suggestion to reconsider the titles of section 8.2 to read: "Revision of Titles and Non-Substantive Revisions". No other changes were suggested.

REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

Nominations Committee (G. Graber)

Graber reported that a slate of candidates will be available soon for election prior to the next meeting.

Proposed Faculty Senate Committee Restructuring (C. White)

White noted that the proposal includes two new committees: the Appeals Committee and the Information Technology Committee. The former is required by the revised Faculty Handbook and the latter, in the form of the *ad hoc* Information Technology Advisory Committee, has been very busy working on matters that will continue to be of concern.

White also reported that the proposal calls for eliminating three existing standing committees: International Education, Development and Alumni Relations, and Government Relations. She explained the reasons each of these committees no longer is needed. She also called attention to the chart describing the proposed actions for Faculty Senate committees, which was distributed with the agenda.

L. Gross expressed concern about the variety of ways that appointments are made to different committees. White conjectured that the differences might be due to history or to the nature of the committees' activities. Lyons noted that the Faculty Senate approves appointments to most committees each May for the following year. Gross expressed his preference that all appointments be approved by the Faculty Senate.

M. Beck noted that someone from the Research Council should be on the Information Technology Committee. There was general agreement with his comment. Gross asked whether *ex officio* members of committees are non-voting members. Graber reported that *ex officio* members are voting members unless the bylaws state explicitly that such members of a committee are non-voting members. Gross said he suspects some *ex officio* members might be given some number of votes, which they could delegate to others if they wished. M. Anderson then spoke in favor of granting voting rights to *ex officio* members to make them genuine members of the committees and to support shared governance. There was general support for her comments.

Regarding the charge of the Educational Policy Committee, C. Craig asked, on behalf of the AAUP chapter, when faculty will take over the redirection and review process. White asked whether the Faculty Senate has the authority to look at individual programs. Lyons noted the curriculum responsibilities of the Faculty Senate and expressed the view that redirection and review fit in that context. Gross asked whether the Educational Policy Committee will be overburdened with this additional responsibility. S. Kurth said she thought the steady-state level of such processes would be manageable. Gross said he favors placing such authority in the committee so that the chancellor would look there when reviews are believed to be needed.

W. Morgan expressed some concern about the proposal to reduce the number of at-large faculty members on the Executive Committee from four to two. Lyons agreed that future presidents would

have less flexibility to balance the committee, but said he doesn't think the reduction will be a real problem.

M. Combs noted his concerns about deleting the Government Relations Committee. He reported on some interactions with legislators that seemed to be beneficial. He urged that the momentum of those activities not be lost. M. Harmon, current chairperson of the committee, said he supports deleting the committee but hopes contacts with legislators will continue.

Lyons invited Senators to raise issues of concern as "new business." No concerns were voiced.

The meeting adjourned at 4:29 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Sam Jordan, Secretary