Department of Political Science

Faculty & Staff

  Name Title Alma Mater Interests Phone Email
Danielle Atkins Danielle Atkins Assistant Professor Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2013 Public Administration, Public Policy, Research Methods 865-974-7057
Curtis Bell Curtis Bell Assistant Professor Ph.D., University of Colorado, 2011 International Relations 865-974-7051
Curtis Bell Matthew Buehler Assistant Professor Ph.D., University of Texas, 2013 Comparative Politics; Middle East 865-974-7045

Ian Down Ian Down Associate Professor Ph.D. UNC-Chapel Hill, 2003 Comparative Politics, Political Economy 865-974-7054
Adam Eckerd Adam Eckerd Assistant Professor Ph.D., Ohio State University, 2011 Public Administration; Public Policy 865-974-7057
Michael R. Fitzgerald Michael R. Fitzgerald Professor Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 1975 American Politics (Urban and State Politics); Public Administration 865-974-7049
David H. Folz David H. Folz Professor Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 1985 Public Administration, State and Local Politics 865-974-0802
Patricia K. Freeland Patricia K. Freeland Professor Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1978 Public Administration, State and Local Government 865-974-7056
Ian Down Kyung Joon Han Assistant Professor Ph.D., UCLA, 2010 Political Economy, Research Methodology 865-974-7046
David J. Houston David J. Houston Professor Ph.D., SUNY-Binghamton, 1988 Public Administration, Public Policy, Research Methodology 865-974-5278
Wonjae Hwang Wonjae Hwang Associate Professor Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2004 International Relations, Research Methodology 865-974-7040
Nathan J. Kelly Nathan J. Kelly Associate Professor Ph.D., UNC-Chapel Hill, 2004 American Politics, Research Methodology 865-974-7186
Jana Morgan Jana Morgan Associate Professor Ph.D., UNC-Chapel Hill, 2005 Comparative Politics 865-974-7043
Anthony J. Nownes Anthony J. Nownes Professor Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1993 American Politics, Public Policy 865-974-7052
Richard Pacelle Richard L. Pacelle, Jr. Professor and Head Ph.D., Ohio State University, 1985 American Politics, Judicial Politics, Research Methods 865-974-2845
Brandon Prins Brandon Prins Professor Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1999 International Relations 865-974-7047 
John M. Scheb II John M. Scheb Professor Ph.D., University of Florida, 1982 American Politics, Public Law, Judicial Politics 865-974-7042
Bruce E. Tonn Bruce E. Tonn Professor Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1982 Public Policy  865-974-7041
Pia Wood Krista Wiegand Associate Professor Ph.D., Duke University, 2004 International Relations 865-974-0931
Krista Wiegand Pia Wood Associate Provost and Director, Center for International Education Ph.D., University of Geneva, Switzerland, 1990 International Relations 865-974-2173
Yang Zhong Yang Zhong Professor Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 1992 Comparative Government, Asian Politics, Political Development 865-974-7187

Adjunct Faculty

  Name Title Alma Mater Interest Phone Email
David Reidy Ernest Brothers Adjunct Assistant Professor of Political Science; Assistant Dean of the Graduate School Ph.D., Jackson State University Public Administration 865-974-3634
David Reidy David Reidy Adjunct Professor of Political Science; Professor of Philosophy Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1997 Political Philosophy 865-974-7210


  Name Alma Mater Email
Theodore Brown, Jr.

Theodore Brown, Jr.

(Senior Lecturer)

J.D., Vanderbilt University, 1978
Eric Castater Eric Castater Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2015
Tim Ezzell Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 1996
Sam Ghatak Sambuddha Ghatak Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2014
Troy Goodale Troy Goodale Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2007
Joe Jarret Joe Jarret J.D., Stetson Univ. College of Law, 1989; M.P.A., Central Michigan Univ., 1983
William Jennings

William Jennings

(Senior Lecturer)

Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2012
Eric Keller Eric Keller Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2015
Nikki Mitchell Nikki Mitchell Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2004
Cary Nailling Cary Nailling Ph.D., University of Mississippi, 2008
Hemant Sharma Hemant Sharma Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2009

 Graduate Teaching Associates (2015-16)

Chris Acuff Justin Kinney Allan Wilford
Mehdi Ayari Michael Moltz Randy Willemain
Jonathan Barsness Andrew Morelock Chris Wilson
Aaron Gold Lily Seabolt  
Katharine Gomez Andrew Smith  

 Front Office Staff

Name Title Office Phone Email
Ms. Sue Howerton Administrative Specialist 1001 McClungTower (865) 974-2261
Ms. Laura Cosey Graduate Secretary 1001 McClungTower (865) 974-2261

Emeritus Professors

Name Alma Mater Interests Email
Robert B. Cunningham Ph.D. Indiana University, 1967 Public Management, Research Methodology
Michael M. Gant Ph.D. Michigan State University, 1980 American Politics, Political Behavior, Research Methodology
Robert A. Gorman Ph.D. New York University, 1972 Political Theory
William Lyons Ph.D. University of Oklahoma, 1974 American Politics, Research Methodology, Political Behavior, Public Administration
Otis H. Stephens Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1963 Constitutional Law, Judicial Politics


Contribute to a big idea. Give to Political Science.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System