Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Enter the name of your College, Department, or Unit Here

Frequently Used Tools:


Partners in Sports Scholarships & Awards


The Partners in Sports Scholarships and Awards are designed to recognize outstanding performance by students majoring in Recreation and Sport Management Students must apply for scholarships, and the awards are presented to students based on their involvement and interactions with Partners in Sports' initiatives and events. Eligibility requirements are listed below.

The deadline to apply for the scholarships is February 28, 2014 at 5:00 p.m. EST. To be considered for a scholarship and/or award please submit your application, cover letter, resume, an unofficial UTK transcript, and two letters of reference directly to Jim Bemiller via email ( or mailbox (HPER 322 or HPER 343).

General Information

All undergraduate and graduate level Recreation and Sport Management students are eligible to apply for the Partners in Sports Scholarships. Undergraduate students are eligible if they:

  • Have successfully completed 60 hours of undergraduate coursework;
  • Have been admitted into the Recreation and Sport Management program;
  • Are a current member of Partners in Sports.

Graduate students are eligible if they:

  • Have been admitted into the graduate program;
  • Are in good standing with the Graduate School and the Recreation and Sport Management program;
  • Are a current member of Partners in Sports.

Criteria for Selection

Academic Performance (20%)

The academic performance accounts for 20% of the overall selection criteria. The selection committee will review each student's complete college transcript with a particular emphasis on academic performance within the major.

Related Experience (40%)

Related experience accounts for 40% of the overall selection criteria. Each student applying for a Partners in Sports Scholarship and Awardis required to submit a cover letter and resume. The cover letter will explain the student's reasons for the scholarship/award application. Related experience refers to any job, internship, practicum or volunteer work completed in the area of recreation and sport management.

Professional Potential (40%)

Professional potential of each student accounts for 40% of the overall selection criteria. Each student applying for a Partners in Sports Scholarship/Award is required to submit two letters of reference from work supervisors, college faculty (other than RSM instructors), etc. All letters should be sent directly to Jim Bemiller in a sealed envelope. A Faculty Rating committee consisting of Recreation and Sport Management professors will review the materials submitted by each applicant.


The deadline for applications for all Partners in Sports Scholarships is April 1, 2013 at 5:00 p.m. EST. Winners of the Partners in Sports Scholarships and Awards will be presented their awards and recognized during Partners in Sports Spring Reception, which is held on Wednesday, April 24, 2013. All applications must also include a cover letter, resume, and two letters of reference, and should be submitted directly to:

Jim Bemiller
University of Tennessee
HPER Building 343
1914 Andy Holt Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37996

Partners in Sports Service Award winners

Previous winners of the Partners in Sports Service Award for outstanding service in Partners in Sports are:

  • Amy Silverthorn 2009-2010
  • Laurie Mitchell 2010-2011
  • Kate Powell 2010-2011
  • Paxson Spears 2011-12
  • Brittany Spencer 2011-12
  • Lucas Forstrom 2012-13
  • Sean McCall 2012-13
  • Erika Morris 2012-13
  • Taylor Scott 2012-13

Buck Jones Award winners

This award is given to the student(s) who best exemplifies the standards of excellence set forth by Buck Jones. Buck is always willing to give of his time and to do whatever it takes to assist students in their professional development. Buck has an extraordinary relationship with all students, graduates, faculty and corporate sponsors that shows his passion for Partners in Sports. Buck has opened many doors to the sports industry and created opportunities for students to be successful in their endeavors. Buck is a true leader and an irreplaceable asset to the Sport Management program at The University of Tennessee. This award has been established to recognize his devotion to helping students and making Partners in Sports a career development organization.

Previous winners of the Buck Jones Award for leadership and professional promise in Partners in Sports are:

  • Molly Emmerich 2002-2003
  • Shelly Shick 2002-2003
  • Amber Scarbro 2003-2004
  • Holly McDaniel 2004-2005
  • Jordan Nelson 2005-2006
  • Melissa Anderson 2006-2007
  • Ed Stinson 2007-2008
  • Zach Franz 2007-2008
  • Tara Reed 2008-09
  • Brandon Spurlock 2008-09
  • Sean Hensley 2009-2010
  • Angie Taylor 2009-2010
  • Dianna Rafferty 2010-2011
  • Hunter Baddour 2010-2011
  • Kayla Cargile 2011-12
  • Sarah Rodts 2011-12
  • Sara Mitchell 2012-13
  • Drew Sims 2012-13

Partners in Sports Scholarship winners

Previous winners of the Partners in Sports Scholarship are:

  • Alicia Ball 1999-2000
  • Rockey Kundert 1999-2000
  • Chris Barnhill 2000-2001
  • Kim Kantor 2000-2001
  • Paula Seward 2000-2001
  • Molly Emmerich 2001-2002
  • Fernanda Ito 2001-2002
  • Marie Muhvic 2002-2003
  • Josh Raymond 2002-2003
  • Austin Shaver 2002-2003
  • Shelly Shick 2002-2003
  • Wendy Dimpfl 2003-2004
  • Holly McDaniel 2003-2004
  • Tom Satkowiak 2003-2004
  • Austin Shaver 2003-2004
  • Megan Hill 2004-2005
  • Chip Kain 2004-2005
  • Steven Short 2004-2005
  • Jeff Day 2005-2006
  • Kirsten Self 2005-2006
  • Michael Steiner 2005-2006
  • Nicholas Stover 2005-2006
  • Jeff Day 2006-2007
  • Carrie Fair 2006-2007
  • Zachary Franz 2006-2007
  • Stephanie Garant-Jones 2006-2007
  • Elizabeth Simmons 2006-2007
  • Chanel Lattimer 2007-2008
  • Jamie Stokes 2007-2008
  • Jackie Wise 2007-2008
  • Ben DeHaan 2007-2008
  • Katie Rahme 2007-2008
  • Christen Aldridge 2008-2009
  • Nick Jahn 2008-2009
  • Max Mello 2008-2009
  • Amy Silverthorn 2008-2009
  • Courtney Skidmore 2008-2009
  • Julia Stump 2008-2009
  • Angie Taylor 2008-2009
  • Mark Britnell 2009-2010
  • Ashley Jahn 2009-2010
  • Da woun Jung 2009-2010
  • Meghan Richardson 2009-2010
  • Julia Stump 2009-2010
  • Khristen Dial 2010-2011
  • Chris Franchetti 2010-2011
  • Whitney Schoenfeld 2010-2011
  • Jonathan Terrell 2010-2011
  • Alexandra Bottone 2011-12
  • Travis Galaska 2011-12
  • Kyle Hargrove 2011-12
  • Jon Janis 2011-12
  • Laurie Mitchell 2011-12
  • Kate Powell 2011-12
  • Katie Wood 2011-12
  • Kayla Cargile 2012-13
  • Courtney Carter 2012-13
  • Sarah Frazier 2012-13
  • Charity Honeycutt 2012-13
  • Katrina Phelps 2012-13
  • Shannon Price 2012-13
  • Sarah Stokowski 2012-13

Joy T. DeSensi Professionalism Award winners

The Joy T. DeSensi Professionalism Award was established in 2013 to honor the high professional standards set forth by Dr. DeSensi and to recognize her contributions to the development of Partners in Sports and the Sport Management profession. The recipients display a professional demeanor in and out of the classroom, are respectful of others, strive for excellence, and are dedicated to the mission of Partners in Sports. The award recognizes Partners in Sports members who demonstrate responsibility, dependability, professional demeanor, and professional attitudes.

Previous winners of the Joy T. DeSensi Professionalsim award are:

  • Marshal Carpenter 2012-13





Partners in Sports

1914 Andy Holt Avenue, Room 354
Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: (865) 974-1272
Fax: (865) 974-8981