The students and colleagues who contributed their time, thought, and energy have made our efforts possible. We would like especially to mention Lance Apple, Jon Barrett, Bonnie Blankmeyer, Rochelle Lefton, Karen Fiducia, Melanie Fitzgerald, Joe Kobos, Kathryn White, Pete Young, Chuck Jones, Cheri Kenna, Charisse Chapelle, Joanna Williams, Nan Hawkes, David Winecoff, Betsy Gertz, Mark Zitlin, Laura Saxton, Karen Josvanger, Julie Shaing, Pat Marterer, John House, Helen Mugg Worsham, Carol Atwater, Mavis Bryant, Wayne Coursol, Susan Justice, Charlie Kimbell, Mary Lou Murray, and Sheila Stack. Special thanks to Don Broach, Merle Bragdon, Kathryn White, Joyce Cartor, Mike Bertenthal, Scott Glass, Janet Carnes, and Lisa Blair. We would also like to thank the staff and administrators of the Northside Independent School District in San Antonio, Texas, and the Knox County and Blount County School Districts in Tennessee, who helped us collect the child data.