Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Black Law Students Association

Frequently Used Tools:

Home » Welcome

Black Law Students Association

The National Black Law Students Association is a professional organization committed to articulating and promoting the educational, professional, political, and social needs and goals of Black law students. Founded in 1968, NBLSA is the largest student-run organization in the United States with over 6,000 members. Organized into six geographical regions, NBLSA boasts over 200 chapters, including chapters and affiliates in six other countries. Though headquartered in Washington, D.C., NBLSA hosts an annual convention in one its chapters' cities across the United States. The 2012 National Convention will take place in DC in March 2012.

The Marilyn Yarbrough Chapter of the University of Tennessee, a member of the Southern region, effects NBLSA's goals through a variety of initiatives, including academic and professional workshops, mentoring programs, the annual Blackshear Banquet, the charity ball, the BLSA buddy program, and the College Student Division. The chapter voted in 2011 to adopt the moniker of Marilyn Yarbrough, the first African-American law school dean at UT and the entire Southeast, who was a tireless advocate for diversity and academic excellence.

For more information on the National Black Law Students Association or the Southern Region of the National Black Law Students Association, please click on the links below:

National Black Law Students Association

Southern Region (SRBLSA)


Border Photo

Contact This Department

Black Law Students Association
1505 Cumberland Ave Suite
Knoxville, TN 37996