Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

University of Tennessee Africana Studies Program

Frequently Used Tools:



Welcome! » Faculty


Faculty

Core Faculty

Core faculty are tenure-track faculty and lecturers with teaching responsibilities in Africana Studies.

NAME TITLE FIELD SPECIALTIES PHONE EMAIL
Michelle D. Commander, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 20th and 21st Century American Literature; Brazil; Cultural Studies; Diaspora; Ethnography; Ghana; Race and Ethnicity; Transnational Studies. 974-6974 mcommand@utk.edu
Cynthia Fleming, Ph.D. Professor Twentieth Century U.S. Social/Cultural History, particularly the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s; U.S. Race Relations, and Black Educational History 974-2145 cfleming@utk.edu
Johsua Inwood, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Urban (re)development, processes of racializaiton, landscape studies, contested notions of identity as well as justice studies 974-6170 jinwood@utk.edu
Asafa Jalata, Ph.D. Professor and Interim Director Africana studies; global studies; political economy; race and ethnic studies; and social justice and democratic movements 974-7027 ajalata@utk.edu
Bertin Louis, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Cultural Identity, the African Diaspora, Gender, Globalization, Haitian Protestantism 974-7797 blouis2@utk.edu
Gichingiri J. Ndigirigi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor African, African Diaspora literatues/drama/theater, Postcolonial and transnational studies 974-6942 jndigiri@utk.edu
Amadou Sall, Ph.D. Lecturer Environmental Education, Minority Student Success, African Studies, War, Violence and AIDS, Study Abroad Transformations, and Disproportionate of Minority Contact and Confinement 974-6719 asall@utk.edu
Awa Sarr, Ph. D. Assistant Professor Francophone Literature; Sociology of Francophone African Literature, Colonial and Postcolonial Theories and Movements, Women's writing 974-6995 asarr@utk.edu
Addisu Tolesa, Ph. D. Lecturer Folklore, Oromo/African Studies, African American Folklore, Linguistics (Socio – Linguistics); History and Geography, Human Rights; and Oromo Education Studies and Research 974-2139 atolesa@utk.edu
Jamal Watson, Ph.D. Lecturer Civil Rights Movement, the Black Church in America and African American Politics 974-5055 jwatso59@utk.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated faculty serve on the Africana Studies Advisory Committee and teach courses that are cross-listed in Africana Studies.

NAME DEPARTMENT PHONE EMAIL
Tahira Akbar-Williams John C. Hodges Library, Research Services and Collections Department 974-0430 takbarwi@utk.edu
Debora R. Baldwin, Ph.D., Psychology 974-4361 dbaldwin@utk.edu
Gina U. Barclay-Mclaughlin, Ph.D. College of Education, Health, and Human Services 974-6228 gmlaugh@utk.edu
Katherine Leigh Chiles, Ph.D., English 974-6945 kchiles1@utk.edu
Dawn Duke, Ph.D. Modern Foreign Languages 974-7006 dduke1@utk.edu
Felicia Felder-Hoehne John C. Hodges Library, Research Services and Collections Department 974-0018 ffelder@utk.edu
Rosalind Hackett, Ph.D. Religious Studies 974-6980 rhackett@utk.edu
Barbara J. Heath, Ph.D Anthropology 974-1098 bheath2@utk.edu
Tricia Hepner, Ph.D. Anthropology 974-8962 thepner@utk.edu
Catherine Higgs, Ph.D. History 974-7095 chiggs@utk.edu
John Hodges, Ph.D. Religious Studies 974-6983 johodges@utk.edu
Althea Murphy-Price, Ph. D. School of Art 974-3247 amurph21@utk.edu
Jon Shefner, Ph.D. Sociology 974-7022 jshefner@utk.edu
Gregory Tardy, Ph. D. School of Music 974-5537 gtardy@utk.edu