The University of Tennessee, Knoxville Faculty Senate

WHEREAS, Brad Fenwick, Ph.D., has served as Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement for The University of Tennessee, Knoxville ("UTK"), since 2007; and

WHEREAS, during this tenure in this position, Dr. Fenwick has done a superlative job of improving faculty resources available through the Office of Research to enhance the ability of faculty to pursue external funding; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Fenwick encouraged the development of faculty workshops and training programs through the Office of Research designed to assist faculty in obtaining external grants and contracts, resulting in many new learning opportunities for faculty across the range of disciplines at UTK; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Fenwick has persistently advocated evidence-based approaches to university administration; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Fenwick's efforts have been highly successful in greatly improving the external research funding to UTK, increasing the total sponsored awards to over \$178M for FY 2009, a far larger amount than any previous year; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Fenwick established within the Office of Research a team to assist faculty in developing proposals for major new centers and institutes; and

WHEREAS, through his efforts to establish and support the QUEST magazine and the weekly appointment of QUEST scholars, Dr. Fenwick has effectively increased public recognition of the faculty's scholarly efforts across the disciplinary spectrum; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Fenwick has successfully advocated for important campus-wide institutional support in the form of (among other things) start-up funds to facilitate and encourage new faculty research, scholarship, and creative activity;

NOW THEREFORE IT IS RESOLVED, that the Faculty Senate expresses its sincere appreciation to

Brad Fenwick, Ph.D.

for all of the foregoing and extends its best wishes for continuing success on the faculty of the College of Veterinary Medicine; and

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this Resolution be presented to Dr. Fenwick and that the Resolution become part of the minutes of the Faculty Senate meeting held on September 20, 2010.

JoAnne Deeken	Joan Heminway
Secretary	President