## **Teaching Council of the Faculty Senate Annual Report to the Senate**

**Committee Members:** India Lane, Chair; Richard Bennett; Stan Bowie; Marianne Breinig; Tom Burman; Norma Cook; Chris Craig; Salvatore DiMaria; Marie Garrett; Richard Heitmann; Diane Hendrix; Amy Hess; Karen Hughes; LaVinia Jennings; Kenneth Kahn; Sibyl Marshall; Susan Martin (Acad. Aff. ex-officio); Mary Papke; Amy Chandler, Lara Souza (GSS). **Minutes** will be posted on Faculty Senate website.

- I. **Charge and Goals.** The Teaching Council works to advance excellence in teaching and academic advising at UTK. Areas of concern include incentives for recognizing quality instruction and advising, methods for improving instruction, guidelines for evaluation of teaching, advising and curriculum, and policy issues related to teaching. Goals for 2005-06 were:
  - a. Revision and implementation of Chancellor's awards for Excellence in Teaching and Advising
  - b. Needs exploration to determine future impact and involvement of the Teaching Council at UTK

**II. Background for 2005-06**. The Council was largely made up of new members this year due to a high amount of turnover in the Council last year. India Lane was asked to initiate the work of the Council for the fall Faculty Senate retreat, and became Chair of the Council after that time. The primary goals of the Council for 2005-2006 were to implement a revised protocol for selecting Chancellor's Teaching and Advising Awards, and to determine campus needs to revise the Charge and activities of the Teaching Council in the future.

**III. Teaching Awards Process.** The Council began with the excellent outline prepared by Mariea Grubbs Hoy and Les Essif for a major revision of the awards process and awards timeline. The Council reviewed and modified the protocol slightly, by requesting introductory documents (short form CV, teaching or advising philosophy, SETs) from all nominees, then selecting one group of finalists. The Council discussed the award criteria and affirmed a goal of selecting individuals who provide uniquely effective teaching in any type of teaching setting. A total of 33 eligible tenured or tenure track faculty nominees, 5 eligible non-tenure track, part-time or adjunct teaching faculty nominees, and 5 eligible advising nominees were reviewed. Members of the Council reviewed groups of nominees and ranked each individual in the group. Collectively the Council reviewed the overall rankings and determined finalists. Fifteen teaching finalists and 5 advising finalists were further evaluated with classroom visits or by references from advisees, respectively. Final awardees were determined after review of Council members' rankings of all finalists.

Ongoing development of the awards process is expected for 2006-2007. In particular, we hope to move to a completely online/electronic nomination and review process and streamline the materials provided by nominees. The nomination process will start a little earlier next year and promotion will be aimed at increasing nominations for the non-tenure track and advising categories. The Council would also like to improve the identification and nomination of excellent teachers, recognizing that many excellent teachers go unnoticed in this process. By adhering to proposed deadlines and selecting finalists early in Spring semester, more time will be available for classroom visits. The ranking/rating system for selecting finalists and awardees will be revised as well to allow an overall score rather than a ranking of separate individuals. Finally, clerical support from the Faculty Senate Office will be trained in the management of this process.

**IV. Other Business**. Other items considered by the Council included the removal of faculty social security numbers on SAIS packets, the possibility of revised SET forms for seminar style or student-driven courses, optimal peer review practices and training in peer review, and optimal Early Alert protocols. The Council would also like to help increase support and discussion of teaching across campus, and will review the programs currently in place before proceeding with new initiatives. For 2006-07, it is expected that the Council activity directed toward these goals will increase, in collaboration with the Undergraduate and Graduate Councils and the new Provost.

**V. Acknowledgements**. The Chair would like to acknowledge the patience and support of the Council members, as well as the guidance of Drs. Susan Martin and Anne Mayhew, in implementing the Chancellor's award selection process. The clerical and technical assistance of Ms. Teresa Jones, Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences, and Ms. Amy Dario, Webmaster, in the College of Veterinary Medicine is also greatly appreciated.

Submitted by India Lane, Chair May 1, 2006