Final Report of the 2005-2006 Faculty Senate Nominating Committee

Chair: Candace White Members: Beauvais Lyons, Jean Gauger, John Waller

The Faculty Senate Nominating Committee recruited two candidates for Faculty Senate President-Elect: **David Patterson** and **Richard Strange**. Both have been faculty senators during the last five years, and both have excellent records of leadership and faculty involvement.

Among other activities, Strange has served as president of AAUP and as an ombudsperson, and Patterson has chaired the Faculty Senate Appeals Committee and served on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

This year the committee also identified three other candidates who are interested in running for President-Elect, but for whom this is not a good year. Their names will be passed along to the 2006-2007 Faculty Senate Nominating Committee. The committee recommends that future Nominating Committees take a longer-range view in the recruitment of candidates, recognizing that in some cases, giving highly qualified candidates a choice in the timing of accepting the nomination will be beneficial to Faculty Senate.